Why I Changed My Mind About the Millennium

It’s rare to hear pastors (or anyone, for that matter) admit that they’ve changed their mind on something, particularly on major doctrinal issues. When I do come across examples of godly men recounting how their doctrinal views have evolved, I always find it encouraging. Certainly my own doctrinal views are very different today from what they were ten years ago… and perhaps different in some ways from what they may be ten years from now. It’s comforting to know that I’m not the only one who hasn’t got it all figured out!

I direct your attention, then, to a blog post by Sam Storms entitled Why I Changed My Mind About the Millennium, in which this Baptist pastor describes the events that led to his abandonment of dispensationalism and eventual embracing of amillennialism. I recommend it for two reasons: First, because it’s a good example of someone who, when his convictions were challenged, turned to a long and serious study to find answers, despite the fact that it was unpopular. Second, because Dr. Storms’ experience in many ways mirrors my own.

While I am not as firmly convinced of the amillennial position as he is (I seem to vacillate between historical premillennialism and amillennialism), I have read many of the same books in my own study of eschatology. Anthony Hoekema’s The Bible and the Future has been particularly helpful.

If you’re interested in hearing more of Sam Storms’ perspective on the millennium, along with other views defended with just as much conviction, I encourage you to find the time to watch this roundtable discussion moderated by John Piper, in which Dr. Storms represented the amillennial view:

Perhaps the best short summary of the most common millennial views comes in a series of short videos by David Murray, which you can find here.

I’m also very much looking forward to the next installment of David Platt’s Secret Church, which will be on the topic “Heaven, Hell, and the End of the World”. You can learn more about the material that will be covered by following along on the Facebook Page, which will have several promo videos leading up to the simulcast on Good Friday. While I don’t know for certain whether or not this will be broadcast at Stevens Street, I suspect that it will. I hope you’ll come!

P.S. — In the interests of fairness, I should also point you to an example of someone who moved in the opposite direction. Tom Schreiner, one of my favorite professors at SBTS, changed his position from amillennial to premillennial (though decidedly NOT dispensational) while preaching through the book of Revelation four years ago. If you’re interested, feel free to peruse the many related links you’ll find here.

2 comments on “Why I Changed My Mind About the Millennium

  1. JD Blom says:

    I saw that video when it first came out and have really appreciated it. I think that it illustrates the importance of not taking too hard of a line on end times theories. I have great respect for all the participants in that debate. I believe them all to be born again Christians and competent and qualified Bible scholars and teachers. Yet, they have come to very different conclusions based upon their examination of the scriptures. I thought it was revealing when each participant was asked what the weakest argument of their position. They all had one. I am reminded of a quote by Alistair Begg, “the main things are the plain things and the plain things are the main things”. End times are not plain otherwise these theologians would be in more agreement. I think that should be remember more by those who are absolutely convinced of their position.

Leave a Reply

