Reading Project 2010

Is it too late to announce a New Year’s Resolution? I’m not sure, because I’ve never really made those kinds of resolutions before. Still, I have set a specific (and hopefully attainable) goal for myself this year, something I rarely ever do!

This year I have committed to reading and reviewing 100 books. I had planned to be enrolled in seminary this year, but for several reasons (mostly financial) that has not been possible. Instead, I have decided to devote myself to studying on my own, so that when I am able to attend seminary someday, I’ll be even more prepared.

I have always loved to read, but I’ve not always been very consistent or intentional about when, how, and what I read. I want this to change. Only by giving myself a goal and making it public (for accountability) will I be able to make the kind of changes necessary, which I hope will become a permanent part of my life.

Besides the desire to be more diligent in my study and personal growth, I have several smaller goals for this project as well. I want to challenge myself by reading things in genres I don’t tend to choose (though they’ll likely be a little theology-heavy), and by reading authors who have very different worldviews and opinions from my own. I’m not sure exactly how that will work itself out, but I plan to read books in groups by genre (for instance, this month I’m reading several books on economics) by authors coming from lots of different perspectives. I think it will be a great journey, and I hope you’ll join me by following along with the book reviews!

Because of all the books I’ll be reading (averaging about two per week), my reviews may not be as comprehensive and thorough as I would normally write them. Rather than dissecting books point-by-point, I’ll be giving an overview of the author’s main points and my reaction and response to the book as a whole.

I’ve attached a tab at the top right of the page that will take you to an index of my book reviews by genre. I’ve added about 20 so far, though they haven’t all been a part of this reading project. Some of them were reviews I had published previously elsewhere, but they are all books I’ve read in the last 6 months.

Last but not least, if you have any book suggestions, I’d love to hear them!

Days remaining in 2010: 314
Books read in 2010: 13/100

Leave a Reply

