The Unbreakable Word

The men in my small group are studying through the gospel of John together. Each time I read this book (or re-read any part of Scripture, for that matter), different themes emerge, and the Word ministers to me in fresh new ways.

On this particular reading, I am focusing on Jesus’ words in John 10:35: “Scripture cannot be broken”. Throughout his teaching ministry, Jesus was constantly quoting the Hebrew Scriptures. He was emphatic that the Law and the Prophets were written about him. He held people accountable to know the prophecies, and to recognize their fulfillment in himself.

Like many Christians today, my knowledge and understanding of the Old Testament is woefully deficient. For far too long, I held the common notion that the New Testament had somehow replaced the Old as the means to knowing the Messiah. Nearly all of my Bible reading was focused accordingly. However, Jesus himself said that ALL of Scripture testifies to who He is, so now I know that I must learn what the Old Testament says about Him if I am ever to truly know the fullness of the revelation of God’s Son. I have a lot of catching up to do.

So with this new awareness, and with the prayer that God would open my mind to understand the Scriptures like He did with the disciples in Luke 24, I have been combing the Scriptures for fresh insight. The Holy Spirit has been faithful to open the eyes of my heart and to guide me into Truth, and I look forward to sharing with you some of what the Lord has been teaching me over the next few days and weeks.

I do not cease to give thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers, that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you a spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of him, having the eyes of your hearts enlightened, that you may know what is the hope to which he has called you, what are the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, and what is the immeasurable greatness of his power toward us who believe.” ~ Ephesians 1:16-19

One comment on “The Unbreakable Word

  1. Jason says:

    As I said in group last Monday, good words. It’s a real shame we as Christians have for the most part left the OT in the dust, moving onto the New not realizing the New stands on the foundation of the Old. Without the foundation, the New makes no sense. That is why, I think, the Gospel is foolishness to the Gentiles. The Jews found it a stumbling block, but the Gentiles who never new the Old Scriptures couldn’t make heads or tails of it, because they didn’t have the foundation. We can only expect the same results today if we don’t build our foundational knowledge on the OT. I can tell you most of my hangups as a young Christian would not have been a problem if I had known the OT. I wish we didn’t even have the division in our Bibles, but that it were one continuous book, as I’m sure it is in God’s eyes.

Leave a Reply

