Signing Off

I’m going to be taking some time off from the blog for a while. It might be for a week, a month, or forever (though I doubt that). I’ll still post book  reviews as I finish books, but otherwise I need to back off. Call it an indefinite sabbatical.

Laurie and I have decided that we need to really pour all our time and energy into fixing up the house and trying to get it in condition to sell. We love the house, but we feel a little “tied down”. We have no plans to leave town or anything, but can’t get away from the sense that we ought to at least be able to leave if the Lord should call us to go.

Right now, having a house that’s constantly “under construction/renovation” is a convenient excuse to say “no” to things that might require us to be mobile… and this blog is a convenient excuse to not do minor repairs that could be done in the amount of time I typically devote to blogging. For instance, I caulked and laid quarter-round in the bathroom and hallway today in about an hour. I bought the trim last summer, and have managed to find an excuse to not put it in for going on 400 days in a row. Shameful, I know!

The good news is that I don’t think it will take a ton of time to get the house in shape. We canceled a vacation we’d planned for next week, and will instead be spending my week off on finishing the kitchen and dining room, which is the biggest project remaining. If all goes well and we can stay in our budget, I might be back in the blogosphere sooner rather than later.

The grace of the Lord Jesus be with you. My love be with you all in Christ Jesus. Amen.” ~ 1 Corinthians 16:23-24

2 comments on “Signing Off

  1. Emily Williams says:

    Don’t forget to post pics of the house when you’re all done!! 🙂

  2. Joe Foell says:

    While I certainly understand your reasons, I’m sorry to hear that you’re calling it quits for a while. I’ve been enjoying your reular posts, and I’ll miss your daily contributions. Thanks for consistently pointing me to quality finds. I wish you the best of luck, and hope to be paying attention once (/if) you return.

    Thanks again,

    An Avid Lurker

Leave a Reply

