James 4:17 is Kicking My Butt Again

How often do we hear Christians say something along the lines of, “I know I should (fill in the blank), but…”?

At church I hear this all the time. Here are some common things people say they know they should do, but for some reason feel unable or unwilling to do it:

  • read the Bible
  • pray
  • tithe
  • volunteer for service projects
  • teach Sunday school
  • attend a life group
  • learn theology
  • read good books

How about things we should do at home? This is where the conviction really starts getting unbearable for me:

  • spend more time with my kids
  • pray with my family
  • lead a family Bible study
  • take out the trash
  • do the dishes
  • finish a project
  • turn off the TV
  • protect my children’s time
  • date my spouse

“So whoever knows the right thing to do and fails to do it, for him it is sin.” ~ James 4:17

Why do we insist on making excuses for not doing the things we know we ought to do? When we fail to read our Bibles or prioritize our families, we are not merely failing to be as good as we could be. We are rejecting the life Christ died to give us, choosing instead to crawl back to our old master and submit once again to his yoke of slavery.

Thank God, Jesus died for sins of omission as well.

Leave a Reply

