Jehovah’s Witnessing

I want to ask for your prayers for a certain situation. Twice now, a man from the Jehovah’s Witnesses has visited our house. He says he’ll be back again, and I hope he does. Please pray with me for his salvation, and for Laurie and I to be able to witness effectively to him.

Jehovah’s Witnesses can be particularly difficult to share the gospel with. They are so indoctrinated, and they tend to back out of discussions once they realize they’re dealing with someone who knows the Bible or who asks questions they can’t answer. This has happened twice already.

The first time he came, I was not home, but Laurie talked with him on the porch for about 45 minutes, with him doing most of the talking. Once she began asking him questions, though, he said, “I perceive you are someone who is familiar with the Bible…” (go Laurie!), and told her he’d return sometime when he could speak with her husband.

Today I chatted with him, again letting him do most of the talking, but answering as best I could the questions he was asking. I could tell that one of my answers was not what he expected, because his smile disappeared and he began to shift his weight uneasily. “Your opinion is in the minority,” he said. “That’s a very uncommon answer.” (The question dealt with the End Times, and he probably doesn’t have much experience speaking with a non-dispensational Christian around these parts.)

He quickly made an excuse about it being cold, and wanting to come back again soon, and then he was gone. He did give us a copy of “What Does the Bible Really Teach”, which is the same book he gave Laurie. I’ve been reading through it and taking notes, writing down questions I want to ask him next time.

The key to witnessing to JW’s is to be respectful and to challenge their thinking using their own material; they believe that all Christians are apostate, and that our Bibles are not accurately translated, so they would discount anything I might say using my own Bible.

Like I said, I really do hope he comes back, and that we can begin a dialogue through which God might open his eyes to the real Truth of the gospel. He is very deceived, and it makes me sad.

One comment on “Jehovah’s Witnessing

  1. vinny says:

    As a 15 year zealous person for Jehovah (and elder) here is my story! I am sure some of my own research and experience can help you here.

    Feel free to get in touch if you have any questions.

    http://exjehovahswitnessforum.yuku.com/topic/922

Leave a Reply

