Behold the Lamb of God

This morning, for the first of what is sure to be many times this holiday season, I listened to my very favorite Christmas CD: Andrew Peterson’s “Behold the Lamb of God: The True Tall Tale of the Coming of Christ”. If you’ve never heard this album, go buy it now. Better, yet, check out the annual “Behold the Lamb Tour” schedule, and get to a performance! I’ve seen the show a couple times (including at Stevens Street a couple years ago) and it’s one of the best live concerts I’ve ever attended.

Anyway, I’ve probably listened to this album at least a hundred times in the last decade, but it always makes me think. This morning, it had me thinking about a writing idea.

Last year, I spent a couple weeks blogging through the movements of Handel’s Messiah, and I enjoyed it immensely. So this year, I’m thinking of doing something similar with the songs from “Behold the Lamb”. There are only 12 tracks, so it’s a much less daunting task than Messiah, which has 56 movements! Anyway, I’m not sure exactly when I’ll get started, but hopefully it will be very soon. I’m looking forward to the possibility!

To whet your appetite, here’s a 10-minute documentary about the album and the tour put together by Andrew Peterson a few years ago:

4 comments on “Behold the Lamb of God

  1. Ruth Cropper says:

    How about doing it for the 12 days of Christmas. 😀

  2. Jonathan says:

    I LOVE this cd! Long Hollow did several songs from this for their Christmas concert last year. My favorite song on the album has to be “Labor of Love.” It is so beautifully written and sung!

    • John Gardner says:

      It’s hard for me to pick a favorite, but it would probably be “Deliver Us” if you forced me to make a decision. “Labor of Love” is definitely great, though! You’ll probably not be in town December 26, but if you are you’ll hear “Labor of Love” at Stevens Street.

Leave a Reply

