Reviewing Rob Bell’s New Book

Love WinsMost people who know me at all know that I’m not a fan of Rob Bell. In fact, I consider him one of the most dangerous figures in the “Christian” subculture. I’ve read his books. I’ve watched his NOOMA videos. His teaching is consistently flashy, edgy, provocative… and unorthodox. Literally.

Unfortunately, he has been intentionally difficult to classify. Because of his reluctance to take any firm theological stance at all, and his gift at using vague speech to sound knowledgeable without really saying anything at all, he has managed to dodge labeling.

Until now. His latest book, Love Wins: A Book About Heaven, Hell, and the Fate of Every Person Who Ever Lived, is apparently where he finally crosses the line into full-fledged Universalism (the belief that everyone goes to Heaven, regardless of their religious beliefs). I’ll be one of the millions who will read this book, but I haven’t read it yet (it will be released next week). However, reviews are starting to show up from those who received advanced reading copies, including one review co-written by two discerning men whose opinions I trust. You can read it on the blogs of Tim Challies or Aaron Armstrong.

And in case you missed it when I posted it last week, here is a video trailer for the book:

One comment on “Reviewing Rob Bell’s New Book

  1. Matt Toth says:

    I am deeply grateful for Rob Bell ~ He has continually brought light and truth to how good God really is. I love God more deeply today than ever before thanks to Rob’s teachings.

Leave a Reply

