What Can Cicadas Teach Us About God?

God’s Word is true!

“For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” ~ Isaiah 55:9

Then I saw all that God has done. No one can comprehend what goes on under the sun. Despite all their efforts to search it out, no one can discover its meaning. Even if the wise claim they know, they cannot really comprehend it.” ~ Ecclesiastes 8:17

Oh, the depth of the riches of the wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable his judgments, and his paths beyond tracing out!” ~ Romans 11:33

Seriously, those things are disgusting. Surely God must have had some purpose in creating them, but who could fathom it? Not me!

If you don’t know what a cicada is, here’s a good introduction. And that part about the lawn mower attracting them is totally true. I just came in from mowing the yard; I spent a good amount of my time out there picking cicadas out of my hair.

Thankfully, the next time they come back, Nate will be almost 15, so HE can be the one mowing the grass and picking them out of his hair!

2 comments on “What Can Cicadas Teach Us About God?

  1. Stephen says:

    I always assumed that cicadas were around every year. I figured that, while they may have a 13-year life cycle, who says they’re all synchronized?

    Perhaps someone can explain to me why a synchronized 13-year life-cycle is a beneficial trait for a species!

  2. Jason Cohoon says:

    When I first saw this I thought for sure you were going to compare their 13 year cycles with the faithfulness of God, because you can be certain these guys don’t miss their appointment!

Leave a Reply

