Of Thee I Sing

Here are some highlights from what has been billed as “the greatest American operetta ever written”. George and Ira Gershwin wrote it in 1931, but it’s just as great today!

If you ever get a chance to read the libretto, you should… it’s brilliant! Here is a synopsis of the plot that includes some background information on the play/musical. It is one of the best pieces of political satire ever written, in my opinion. Hard to believe it is 70 years old this year. Not a whole lot has changed in politics, it would seem…

One comment on “Of Thee I Sing

  1. […] post: Of Thee I Sing « Honey and Locusts More Beltwayspeak: A Larceny Of Language – Of Thee I Sing 1776 Of Thee I Sing 1776. Ideas and […]

Leave a Reply

