Ron Paul’s Interview With Christianity Today

It’s very rare for Dr. Paul to speak about his faith, so I was thrilled to see this interview by Sarah Pulliam Bailey for Christianity Today. I found his answers to be very refreshing, compared with how most politicians seem to try to speak around the complicated intersection of faith & politics. Some highlights:

  • “How can your faith be divorced from your everyday living?”
  • “I”m not a hyphenated Christian.”
  • “Biblically and historically, the government was very uninvolved in marriage. I like that. I don’t know why we should register our marriage to the federal government. I think it’s a sacrament. I think it should be biblical, and politically I don’t like to fight with people who disagree with me, as long as they don’t force their views on me. “
  • “If you substitute the government for the family, this is a detriment.”
  • On whether schools should teach creation or evolution: “This demonstrates the fallacy of a government-run educational system. I think this issue of how the world came about is a spiritual, religious, scientific discussion. It should be totally out of the realm of the government. Why do we have to dwell on this? I think it’s the results of the state-run schools. The argument is, who’s going to dictate the criteria? I think right now Christians are going to lose this fight, because we deferred… Are we as Christians going to dictate every single religious belief in our schools? Or should it be those who are the secularists who say that it’s insane to believe in a creator? The whole fight is a result of depending on the king to explain to us exactly what we’re supposed to believe in.”

For more on Ron Paul and faith, check out Christian Perspectives on Ron Paul. Be sure to also check out his latest book, Liberty Defined (here’s my review), in which Paul clearly articulates his position on many topics that are important to Christian (and all other) voters.

Leave a Reply

