Hey Dol! Merry Dol! Ring a Dong Dillo

Reading The Lord of the Rings used to be a nearly annual event, but it’s been several years since my last visit to Middle Earth. This summer, in anticipation of the release of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (the trailer looks AWESOME), I’m immersing myself in Tolkien once again!

Last week I read The Hobbit, and have now started in on The Fellowship of the Ring. After I finish the trilogy, it’ll be onto The Silmarillion and The Children of Húrin. That ought to keep my busy for a few weeks!

This evening I arrived at chapter 7, “In the House of Tom Bombadil”. Tom is one of my favorite characters, though I can understand (begrudgingly) why he was omitted from the movies. But I can’t read the chapter without a detour to listen to the Nickel Creek song it inspired! Hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I do.

[Photo Credit]

Leave a Reply

