A Very Important 2%

In yesterday’s post I displayed my results of a quiz that identifies the presidential candidate that best matches your answers to a set of questions. Not surprisingly, my number one match was Ron Paul. Also not surprisingly, coming in at #2 was Gary Johnson.

The quiz stated that “I side 98% with Ron Paul”. While I’m not certain I’m quite that ideologically aligned with him, my blogging history should tell you that the quiz pegged my pick pretty accurately. But then it said I sided 96% with Gary Johnson, the Libertarian Party’s candidate for president.

Though, unlike Paul, I haven’t written much of anything about Johnson on here, I should say that I do like him. I agree with him on a great many things. On the quiz, his answers and Ron Paul’s were virtually identical on the vast majority of questions, which explains why the margin of difference between them is slim… at least where the quiz metrics are concerned.

But that 2% of difference is a major difference when it comes to the importance of the issues where they are different. Gary Johnson supports a woman’s “right” to choose to abort a fetus until it becomes “viable” at 5 months of gestation. That by itself is a deal-breaker for me. Though I align with Johnson on most issues on paper, I absolutely cannot and will not vote for a candidate who does not strongly oppose abortion. It’s one of the reasons I so strongly support Ron Paul: he has been the most consistent pro-life politician in Washington for decades.

Call me a “one issue voter” if you like (though I hope my history of thinking through political issues “out loud” on my blog will demonstrate that this is not the case), but I can’t think of any issue more worthy of raising to “deal-breaker” status.

Quizzes are fun, but there’s a limit to their usefulness. I may side with Gary Johnson 96% of the time, but I won’t vote for him.

7 comments on “A Very Important 2%

  1. I understand and sympathize. I am also Pro-life. But the question is: would Paul’s and Johnson’s policies in this regard be any different. The main things they can do is appoint judges. But if they appoint Judges who respect the Tenth Amendment, regardless of their personal views, especially were the supreme court to reconsider Roe v. Wade, lives would be saved. The other thing they can impact on is the public funding of planned parenthood. They do not have authority to remove that funding, but they can refuse to endorse that policy. Refuse to enforce it where they are able, and advocate its end. Even pro-choice people are opposed to subsidies to abortion providers, particularly if they are libertarian. I also think you should consider pro-life libertarian atheist Walter Block’s work on “evictionism”, which is a viable alternative to the current life/choice arguments, even if it would take a long time to gain traction. Gary, who is a non-practicing Lutheran, whatever that means, could be made susceptible to any number of arguments, particularly if they offer libertarian solutions. There are many liberty-minded arguments in favor of life that Johnson could be asked to consider. Regardless, I hope you vote your conscience.

    • John Gardner says:

      Their policies would not be that different on the front end, but there is no logically consistent way to oppose some abortion (as Johnson does) without opposing all abortion. I am thankful that there ARE a lot of pro-life Libertarians who understand that protecting individual liberties MUST require protecting the liberty of the unborn. It has to be a priority, and for Johnson, it’s not. I’m looking at Virgil Goode (Constitution Party) now. Nothing excites me about him, but of the men on the ballot in TN he’s looking like my best option.

      • I agree that it is a logically inconsistent view. But being that the Federal government’s role against crime is constitutionally limited to prosecuting 1) Treason, 2) Piracy, 3) Counterfeiting, and 4) offenses against the Law of Nations (international law), I think it is just possible for a candidates position on potentially criminal acts outside of these to have no bearing, BEYOND an exercise of unconstitutional powers. If I had even a mild inclination that Johnson were to act unconstitutionally, I would not vote for him. Which is why I am still an undecided voter and withhold my vote from Johnson UNTIL I am absolutely convinced he will not worsen, or will in fact better the unborn life situation in this country, even if he does so on less than logically consistent grounds. What I am advocating in terms of JohnsonPaul is a long shot, and in my opinion is the only way Johnson could win (provided he also gets into the debates). If he does not make these outward concessions I will have two reasons to not vote for him: 1) I will not be able to morally justify it, and 2) he won’t be able to win anyways so I might as well vote my conscience by writing in/selecting someone else who also can’t win but with whom I agree. By the way, I took this isidewith quiz yesterday. Paul is no longer on it, though when he was I think I was 98% with him (I took it once or twice before). This time I was 96% with Johnson. I am sure that that 2% difference is also the abortion issue.

        • John Gardner says:

          I’m pretty much exactly where you are, from the sound of it. I am technically still undecided. If by some miracle it looks as if Johnson has a shot (perhaps with Paul on the ticket?) I’ll likely vote for him. If it looks like one third party vote is as good as another, I’ll probably go with the Constitution Party.

          And I noticed the same thing about the quiz. Without RP, Johnson is my #1 and Goode is my #2. I had 98% Paul and 96% Johnson when I took it the first time.

  2. Reblogged this on PaulJohnson2012 and commented:
    Should Pro-Life Conservatives and LIbertarians consider voting for Johnson? Yes, I think they should at least consider it.

  3. […] I have most in common with Libertarian Party candidate Gary Johnson, but his stance on abortion rules him out in my book — it’s one of the reasons I liked Dr. Paul so much. Pro-life libertarians are a […]

Leave a Reply

