An Eclectic Week

This week is one of the busiest trumpet-playing weeks I’ve had in a while, and also one of the most musically eclectic. Here’s a sampling of some of the music I’ve played or will play in the span of just a few days…

Last night I played lead trumpet for a big band gig here in Cookeville, which included this Buddy Rich hit:

This morning I was playing in the cornet section in the Southern Stars Symphonic Brass, working on Christmas music that includes this arrangement:

Tuesday is the first of my gigs subbing in the pit orchestra for the TTU Backdoor Playhouse production of “Cabaret”:

Sunday night I’m playing guitar at church, for a set list including this great hymn by Keith & Kristyn Getty:

Meanwhile, this is what our church orchestra has been working on for next Sunday:

This is a perfect example of why I tell all my trumpet students to become competent in a wide variety of musical styles. I don’t enjoy playing all these styles equally, but I sure do enjoy every opportunity I get to perform!

This week is a little extreme, though. Here’s hoping I can keep my head on straight, and remember which songs are supposed to swing!

Leave a Reply

