The 12 Days of Minor Prophecy

12 Minor Prophets

And now for something completely different…

Tonight was somewhat… unprecedented at Stevens Street Baptist Church. In an effort to help our congregation remember something of all twelve books covered in tonight’s survey of the minor prophets, our pastor, Sam Rainer, decided to add some Christmas cheer to the end of the service. So, seeing as everyone’s full of Christmas spirit, he thought, why not combine the 12 Minor Prophets with the 12 Days of Christmas? The following videos are the result. (And for those who may be horrified at what you’re about to see, rest assured that this act of levity followed 40 minutes or so of solid teaching, in a message that will be posted here tomorrow.)

In the first video, Pastor Sam explains how he came up with each of the lines for the song, and why the books are out of order:

  • In the first minor prophet the Lord said to me: A prostitute from a weird family (Hosea)
  • In the second minor prophet the Lord said to me: Two years to shaking (Amos)
  • In the third minor prophet the Lord said to me: Three fishy days (Jonah)
  • In the fourth minor prophet the Lord said to me: Four short sermons (Haggai)
  • In the fifth minor prophet the Lord said to me: Five woes to you! (Habakkuk)
  • In the sixth minor prophet the Lord said to me: Six days of judging (Joel)
  • In the seventh minor prophet the Lord said to me: Seven fighting shepherds (Micah)
  • In the eighth minor prophet the Lord said to me: Eight nights of visions (Zechariah)
  • In the ninth minor prophet the Lord said to me: NINE-vah is ruined! (Nahum)
  • In the tenth minor prophet the Lord said to me: Give ten percent (Malachi)
  • In the eleventh minor prophet the Lord said to me: Eleven punishing promises (Zephaniah)
  • In the twelfth minor prophet the Lord said to me: Twelve other Obadiahs (Obadiah)

And here’s the video of the song itself:

Since there are likely to have been others better situated to record videos, I’ll update this page with better footage if it becomes available. Enjoy!

P.S. — Thanks to Tracy Wehr for the photo at the top of the page!

Leave a Reply

