Behold the Lamb of God 2012

Yesterday, due to the unfortunate illness of the child of one of our staff members, Laurie and I were given their tickets to last night’s performance of Behold the Lamb of God by Andrew Peterson. He’s now been doing this show for 13 Advent seasons, and it keeps getting better each time I see it! If you aren’t familiar with the BTLOG tour, here’s a little promo video they put together this year:

I’ve seen the show at least six times now, but last night’s was by far the best performance I’ve seen yet. Partly that was due to the experience of hearing it at the historic Ryman Auditorium, which allowed for a sound and light experience unlike anything I’ve seen from previous performances, but the assembled cast of musicians (which changes from year to year, and sometimes show to show) was really outstanding!

When I discovered that Buddy Greene and Jeff Taylor were on the program, I was pumped! Their bluegrass performance of “Sleigh Ride” was worth the price of admission (or in our case, the price of babysitting, since we were blessed with free tickets) all by itself. They were followed by a few numbers from Steven Curtis Chapman, which was also a special treat.

The second half of the concert (the actual BTLOG portion) began with Sally Lloyd-Jones reading from her Jesus Storybook Bible (my review) and her new book Thoughts to Make Your Heart Sing (which is also great, though I haven’t yet written a review). We have quite a few of her books in our house (including our kids’ favorite bedtime book) and it was an honor to see and hear in person!

I can’t recommend this show more highly to you, nor the Behold the Lamb of God album which gets played pretty much every December day in the Gardner house. It never gets old!

A few years ago, I wrote a series of devotions based on the tracks from this album. You can find them here:

You may also be interested in Andrew Peterson’s excellent fiction series, The Wingfeather Saga. Here are my reviews of the first three books, with the final book of the series due to be released next year:

One comment on “Behold the Lamb of God 2012

  1. […] of this is Andrew Peterson’s album “Behold the Lamb of God”, which I’ve already mentioned this week so I won’t say more about it […]

Leave a Reply

